Dad’s Favourite Things

My dad wrote this during assembly at his school the other day. I wish when I was at high school I had known the teachers gave even less of a shit about proceedings than I did, I would’ve been heaps naughtier and more askance-blazered.

My Favourite Things – Hong Kong Style (Fondly)
Bowties on babies and jackets on poodles,
Sleeping on buses and slurping my noodles,
Spitting out bones when I eat chicken wings,
These are a few of my favourite things.

Burping out loud when I have indigestion,
Suddenly stopping or changing direction,
Banquets at Mei Sum, mahjong with the Lings,
These are a few of my favourite things.

When dog bite la
And bee sting. Wa!
When I want to cry
Just have to remember my favourite things and
Everything mo muntai*

Ring tones, pSp and loud conversations,
Ignoring announcements at MTR stations,
My thirty-four Hello Kitty key rings,
These are a few of my favourite things.
etc

*”no problem”

Thanks Julie Andrews for probably sanctioning this.

Also, while I’m here, there is a restaurant near my work called ‘Very Good Banquet Hall’. I like that. It’s like let’s not talk this joint up too much, our garlic choy sum is definitely pretty nice but STEADY ON PR DUDE.

Leave a Reply

