“i’m gonna break my rusty cage and run”

ensconsed in airport motel with two sleeping kids and 90kg of luggage. joel still moving stuff into storage unit. completely physically and mentally spent, and sick of hungry jack’s. in all the stress and chaos and excitement, hadn’t given any thought to the sadness of saying goodbye to our friends and family. very emotional. have to be up at 5am for shuttle. need to work on story for why we’re 20kg over baggage allowance. phone disconnecting soon. hooroo, compatriots. yours etc, jade k king.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Toni says:

    I’m so glad you posted all those, Jade, I was wondering how the actual move went.
    It’s an amazing thing you guys have done — you deserve a trophy. Made out of Milo. I’ll see if I can find one on eBay.

    1. jadeluxe says:

      A Milo trophy would be AMAZING. Actually anything with Australian Milo would be.

  2. Rhiannon says:

    Oh my gawd!! I’ve just been reading them ALL at that fever pitched rate. And having to maintain kegel exercises through the laughing fits. Wish I had thought to ‘diarise’ our own move… maybe I will copy paste yours and just change names of kids and destination country. Sooo much similar to what we went through, everything: passport photo rejection, borrowed toys, selling cars (we lost the remote car key in the final hours, think it went to the tip!). My in-laws found our house and signed the lease too (though our house is CRAP).
    This whole thing is definitely something you should be proud of. And having done it once, next time will be so much easier, right?
    I admire your adventurousness 🙂

    1. jadeluxe says:

      Yeah, sorry, there was heaps of text there…you would’ve had to be fever-pitched just to get through it 😉
      I’m glad I wrote it all down, even though reading it back now, as I said, almost does make me spew from reliving the stress!
      I’m incredibly proud of the move – as you must be too. What are the circumstances of yours? You should write about it! I’m intrigued!
      Next time around, it will be SO MUCH easier. We’ll know exactly what matters and what doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

