An ulterior motive.

on

I’ve blogged for seven years now and never had (or cared that I didn’t have) a big audience.  I write every day for myself and to record my family’s adventures.  Since we moved here and I made most of Jadeluxe public so I could share it with the clutch of heartsick grandparents we left at home, basically, and some friends, I’ve realised I can use this platform for something better than shitty mobile phone photos and quasi-racist descriptions of Chinese signwriting fails.

I regret that it’s become kind of a running joke of the Circle of Moms Top 25 Expat blogs “campaign” to talk about the “leading” blog and their weird bizarre soliciting for donations.  Well, I don’t really regret it because the way they’ve gone about accruing all their votes isn’t really indicative of the quality and effort involved in the blog.  But I regret it a little bit, because I also have an altruistic purpose for wanting to do well in the blog competition and now you’re all going to be like “What utter hypocrisy!  Let’s all go vote for Rachel, at least she posts pictures of hotties in bikinis!”

I think lots of you have read my imaginatively entitled post about helpers (it’s the one called Helpers in the list of posts on the right there). I don’t know what sort of coincidence this is, but right before I got nominated for the blog competition was when all this helper stuff started to crystallise in my mind.  I really feel that I need to do something about what I see here, and one way I can do that is by having a platform like a widely read blog.  I don’t know – yet – what I’ll use it for, but I’ll figure it out soon.  It might be interviews with helpers or a place to get ideas for how to legally harass my idiot neighbour and her kind.

The ultimate aim will be something along the lines of a group to pressure legislators to actually enforce the Hong Kong ordinances relating to foreign domestic helpers.  There are plenty of support groups here offering emergency accommodation/food etc. for helpers but (at least as far as I can tell) none aimed at enforcement.  I’ve been variously given support, and shot down as a righteous, patronising “self-appointed hero of the downtrodden”(?!) on the expat forums where I’ve tried to test the waters.  There have been a couple of good and useful responses from people with the right legal/journalistic background, and we are aiming to create a clear idea of what we want to do and follow it forward.  There has to be something more useful I could be doing than secretly passing pretzels over the fence to the helper whenever her boss is out of the house.

I know Circle of Moms is viewed dubiously by some but the fact is, it has 8 million members, nearly all of them – I guess – moms/mums, and what better audience to feel what these exploited foreign domestic helpers go through?  Things happen these days via social media saturation and this seems too good an opportunity, and too fortuitous a coincidence, to pass up.

So, there you go.  A confused attempt to explain why I’m asking for votes.  So you don’t think I’m just an egomaniac who continually wants props for basically just taking notes on my own life.  There will, in the near future, be more worthwhile content in the mix.  No promises I’ll stop with the shitty photography though.

Thanks heaps for voting!  I wanted to get into the top 10, and I’m currently 3rd, which is amazing!  A minor victory against Twitter!  Obviously no-one will catch the Petersons, with their shout-out on a YouTube channel with 38,000 members, but I’d really like to stay up there so please continue to share and vote.  You can vote once a day until 6 June. Just click on the pink button on the right.

Peace 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rhi says:

    I love your blog… love your work… am voting every day.
    You rock.
    Good luck.

  2. Becci says:

    Ditto. Still following and had decided to vote every day since reading about the situation with Hong Kong’s ‘helpers’. Maybe you could start an agency that caters to those locals who want reliable help and agree to signing a contract to treat them well? Probably impossible to implement and you probably don’t have the time. Anyway good luck, hope you get up to No. 1 (us Aussies will never relate to the American perfect family, The Petersons!).

    1. jadeluxe says:

      I don’t have the time or the money, or probably the legal right (since I’m not a permanent resident until I’ve lived here for seven years). It is a great idea though. I would have loved to find such an agency when I moved here and had no idea about how to find a helper.

    2. jadeluxe says:

      Also, Becci, my comments on your blog aren’t working – every time I post one an error message appears, but it’s in Chinese so I don’t know what it says. I can only assume it’s an error because it’s all red and alarming-looking…

      Anyway, my latest one was DO IT. DO IT!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

