The House of a Thousand Arseholes

There’s a famous building here called Jardine House.

The home of the centuries-old multinational corporation Jardine Mathison, it has a unique design of porthole windows.

These give it its colloquial sobriquet of ‘The House of a Thousand Arseholes’ – a dual reference to the portholes, and the Jardine Mathison taipans who work within.  CLEVER, RIGHT.  As someone who’s waged a long campaign to bring “hatful of arseholes” back into the popular lexicon, it’s only natural I applaud the budding neologist who first thought of ‘The House of a Thousand Arseholes’.  Good one bro.

A few weeks back I was reporting an investigation in Jardine House.  The job involved a hell early start that necessitated being in the very House of Arseholes before sunrise (though not many arseholes were present at that hour – this is Hong Kong after all, even the most diligent arsehole doesn’t usually start work until 10am.  It was pretty much just me, the tech arsehole and the security arsehole).

Pay-off: unreal porthole view of city sunrise!

And later, superb lunchtime view over the harbour.

I was still working well past sundown and into the night, and would love to share the photo I took of the skyscrapers lighting up around the harbour, but they all have my reflection in them.  And even I’m not stupid enough to put a photo of myself in a post where I personally insult 1,000 of the region’s most prominent arseholes.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    I love this! There are a few residences (much less impressive than your sky scraper) that I might have to borrow this term for… Great shots too!

  2. jadeluxe says:

    It’s a fantastic term really, applicable to many places I frequent too… 😉

Leave a Reply

